Book Review: Twenties Girl by Sophie Kinsella

Confession:  I loved Sophie Kinsella’s Shopaholic series.  While I sometimes fancy myself a book snob, the truth is that a fun chick lit novel can entice me just as much as a great Fitzgerald or Bronte.  Having heard great things about Kinsella’s newest, Twenties Girl, I immediately went out and bought the first copy I found, at a Kroger no less!!   The basic premise follows our new heroine, Lara Lington, who is visited (or rather, haunted) by the ghost of her Great Aunt Sadie, whom no one in her family ever really got to know.

Sounds sort of cheesy, right?  But so did Becky Bloomwood and the Shopaholic stories.  I love how Kinsella can take such a powerfully flawed, yet loveable lady, and turn her life around – not make her perfect, just make her striving towards being something better.  So I ignored the cheese factor and dove in.  After about 50 pages, I almost stopped.  Wow.  The novel was hilariously stupid.  When other reviewers said it was ‘laugh out loud funny’, I didn’t figure they meant completely idiotic with absolutely no redeeming qualities.  Harsh, I know, but I was just so disappointed.  Lara is no Becky – the whole scene of her in the police station and the lies she manages to create that come close to something whispered in an asylum instead of a witty novel are just too ridiculous.  Ghost Sadie is worse – over-the-top and downright mean at times.  And don’t get me started on the scenes where Sadie makes Lara dress up in twenties drag.  Who would ever do that?

I forced myself to continue on, randomly texting Victoria to vent my outrage.  Somewhere around 50 pages or so from the end, the book finally justified itself!  So keep reading, or rather, just jump straight ahead to the end because that’s where you’ll surpass the disappointment and perhaps even shed a tear.  These last few pages create a fully fleshed out friendship between the young and the elderly – the often abandoned and forgotten relatives tossed aside to die alone in nursing homes by family members who can’t be bothered.  If even the promise of a great ending can’t pull you through, check out the Shopaholics – they are a lot of fun and loads better than that awful movie.

Unfortunate star rating – 2/5 (mainly for the ending)

Leave a Reply

