Brooke’s Movie Reviews (or Warnings)!

I hope everyone had a fantastic Thanksgiving.  This holiday I’ve spent several hours in front of my television watching some movies – really terribly bad movies.  So, I thought since it’s the season of giving and all, I’d provide warnings to anyone thinking about watching the films I’ve forced myself to sit through!

Perhaps the worst offender is No Strings Attached.  I really don’t need to say more than – Ashton Kutcher, do I?  What was Natalie Portman thinking?  Just an easy way to pay the bills?  Anyway, it’s the whole friends with benefits turned soul-mate romance crap that has been done so many times.  Unfortunately, there is nothing to ground this movie in reality or make any of the characters endearing.  If you want a much better version, check out Friends With Benefits starring Mila Kunis and Justin Timberlake – such a better movie.

Last night I sat down to The Roommate with Leighton Meester and Minka Kelly.  Just no.  WARNING: Meester’s character puts the most adorable kitten into a dryer – and then turns the dryer on.  However, if you like watching commercials for the CW, this movie might be for you since every actor from that channel finds their way into this film.

The whole Twilight series baffles me.  To be honest, this post was supposed to be a movie review of Breaking Dawn Part I, but I couldn’t bring myself to write it.  I just couldn’t do anything but write paragraph after paragraph of bashing every aspect of the film which would alienate people who love the story.  I don’t want anyone to hate me and leave the group!  But truthfully, the acting is ridiculous, the music (pan flutes!) comedic, the CGI moments unbelievable, and the wolves just completely stupid.  Any positives?  The special effects crew managed to do one good job – making Bella look super emaciated while the demon baby was sucking the life out of her.  This achievement only makes the other CGI bits that much worse.  The wedding scene was pretty and Anna Kendrick is hilarious.  Also, I liked the horror of the birthing scene.  See how nice I tried to be?

Finally, the one slightly shining moment was watching Matt Damon and Emily Blunt in The Adjustment Bureau.  I always appreciate a sci-fi/fantasy love story – they always feel a bit fresh and unpredictable.  Damon is really convincing as a politician and Blunt has obviously danced in her past which adds such realism to the script.  You feel like the what’s happening could actually happen unlike the prior three films.  Everything goes swimmingly until the end, which just kind of ends.  Abruptly.  I mean, everything is resolved.  Just there’s no big twist or excitement.  It’s just like the director yelled CUT! in the middle of a great chase scene.  Very jarring and ruined everything that had worked previously.  FAIL.

I hope y’all have had better luck than me with your recent viewings!  Let me hear about it in the comments!

Leave a Reply

