So Long, January!

I went on a reading binge this month.  A reading binge is akin to an eating or drinking binge just without the all-consuming guilt.  In total, I’ve started and finished 18 titles which is about twice as many as normal.  Many factors coincided for this small feat to happen including a husband working 80 hour weeks, still no luck on the personal job front, and a slight bout of depression directly related to the whole no job thing.  All that negativity aside, I’ve had a blast reading!

So what did I accomplish?

2 titles from the TIME’s 100 Best list – The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe and The Crying of Lot 49 which brings my grand total to 23 TIME selections read.  Only 77 more to go!  Next month I’m tackling Things Fall Apart by Chinua Achebe.

8 books from my TBR mountain that have lived there far too long!

1 Shakespearean play – Macbeth

1 re-read – Fahrenheit 451 

And many other titles I read just for the complete enjoyment of their company.  Success!

January’s High Points:

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline and Cold Sassy Tree by Olive Ann Burns

January’s Low Point:

The Vampire Diaries by L.J. Smith

 

 

 

I’m excited to dive into February’s reads!  This month is home to my birthday (and everyone deserves a month long celebration, right?) so I’ve spent some fun hours planning and plotting what to read.  I’m definitely going to be reading some novels about relationships, love, and marriage to honor V-Day – in fact, I’ve finished one and can’t wait to tell you about it.  I’ll also be re-reading Emma by Jane Austen and tackling Faulkner’s A Light in August.

What will you be reading in February?

4 thoughts on “So Long, January!

  1. It sounds like you had a great month, and I, too, am looking forward to February and the reading that I am planning. I look forward to seeing what you’ve got coming up, and I wish you a very happy February!

  2. That is AWESOME! Great bunch of reading. I have had a pretty good month. I finished four books (one a week, goal completed).

    I have more of the Tournament of Books books on my list for February. First few up: State of Wonder by Ann Patchett, The Last Brother by Nathacha Appanah, and Swamplandia by Karen Russell.

    • My official goal is four a month as well so I really lost my mind in January, but the reading has slowed down quite a bit.

      I want to read more from the Tournament of Books list as well. I might have to hit up the library because I don’t own many of them except Swamplandia so maybe I’ll add that to February’s reading as well! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

