Book Order!

I haven’t placed an online book order in a long while – discounting the books I buy for book club, obviously.  This little spending splurge felt great because there was no guilt involved.  With my book spending habits seriously in check these past few months, I could order these gems with a light heart.  So what did I get?

Between, Georgia by Joshilyn Jackson – I’ve wanted to read something by Jackson for quite a while.  Many fellow bloggers sing nothing but her praises.  Plus, there’s the added bonus of being from Georgia, not too far from Between.  It’s a tiny little town nestled away on Hwy. 78 between Athens and Atlanta.  Jimmy and I always giggled at the name when we rode through.  I know I’ve been less than thrilled with the southern novels I’ve read this year, but I’m hoping I’ll find a winner here!

Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn – With Gone Girl garnering so much attention and praise, I’ve been super excited about getting to know Flynn as an author.  Instead of beginning with Gone Girl, I thought I’d reach back a bit further in her catalog and get better acquainted with her style first.

Stiff:  The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers by Mary Roach –  I admit to being a Mary Roach virgin, but have long wanted to dive into one of her fascinating books.  And let’s face it – dead bodies are intriguing things.  Or perhaps I’m just kind of a creepy person?  I did want to be a forensic pathologist at one point.  Anyway, I know I’ll love this book.

A Feast for Crows by George R.R. Martin – Don’t worry.  I’m not going to be reading this one anytime soon, but I wanted it on the shelf for when I’m ready to go back to Westeros.  Probably won’t be until next year or even the year after that.  I’ve heard some seriously mixed reviews.  The 4th and 5th books were actually supposed to be one novel originally, but Martin didn’t think an 1800 page book was a good idea – so he split them in two.  This means Crows lacks three of my favorite characters almost entirely.  Not sure how I feel about that.

Let me know your thoughts and opinions on any of my selections!  With the overflowing TBR shelf, I probably won’t be getting around to any of these titles soon – unless you think one of them is a must read!

6 thoughts on “Book Order!

  1. Stiff is such an amazing book, and in general, I have had great success with Mary Roach’s books. I really liked Packing for Mars, and have Bonk on my ipod just waiting for me. I also want to read the others that you bought for yourself as well. Lots of great books in that stack! Very nice!

Leave a comment