Bedtime Stories Continued…

Dear Lord.  If you follow me on twitter, then you were privy to my epic rant yesterday.  A rant of gigantic proportions over my husband’s shopping exploits.  And yes, I realize I was taking quite a risk in letting him buy a mattress on his own, but I thought I was being non-naggy and giving him some freedom.  As a consolation prize for not getting a memory foam mattress.  But guess what?  He ordered a memory foam mattress.  Surprised?  Ugh.

After we had a minor (major) fight about his selection, he next informed me that he had financed the mattress over three years, interest free.  WHAT?  We had never agreed to do that.  We had decided to stick to a budget that we could afford to pay off now.  There are a plethora of mattresses within our reasonable budget, but no – he ordered something beyond our means.  When I found out the price, I nearly clocked him.  To top it off, he’s also ordering a new queen mattress for one of our guest rooms so that our guests can sleep as well as we do.  Because we have overnight guests every week (3 times a year) that require the ultimate in pampering (mostly young single people who could give a shit).

He’s calmly informed me that we have a 100 night trial period.  If I don’t like it, I can return the mattress.  Like I’m going to make him return his beloved mattress – I already feel the guilt.

I won’t go too much into his purchase of the most expensive down comforter and sheet set he could find.  I also won’t complain about the fact that because he bought the most expensive sheet set ever he couldn’t afford two sets that I could alternate out each week. Basically, everything that came out of my mouth was a complete waste of breath. HUSBANDS.  Sometimes you need them, sometimes you…I won’t finish that sentence.

After steaming for about 30 minutes, my anger left me – it’s kinda hard to stay mad when you’re getting new pretty things and the object of your ire is super excited to the point of giddiness about his new purchases.  But I vowed to order whatever the hell throw pillows I desired.  So that brings me to what this post is actually about – THROW PILLOWS!

I have two options I love and don’t know which ones to choose.  Help me!  Here’s a reminder of what my duvet looks like:

I ordered the duvet and two standard shams.  Now, for the throw pillow options.  Option #1:

I love the Ikat design.  Just thinking about throwing these babies on the bed has me all a twitter.  They keep my calm, zen-like atmosphere happy while adding a little flare and fun to the mix.  Ballard Designs has them on sale right now for $39 (big one) and $29 (little one) – this cost includes pillow insert.  Shipping and sales tax will up the price.

Option #2:

Some combination of these beauties from West Elm.  Aren’t they gorgeous?  I like the vibrant colors and the handmade feel to these guys (I think they actually are handmade). They would add a vintage flare to my room I would love.  And to be honest, I think they’ve stolen my heart – mind, body, and soul.  They are priced at $34 and $41, but shipping is free.

So I’m definitely leaning towards Option #2, but those dang Ikat pillows are going to haunt me in my sleep.  Decisions, decisions.

Stay tuned for more decorating updates as our bedroom comes together!  I’ll be sure and post progress pictures.  Plus, I’ll need more help choosing side tables!

10 thoughts on “Bedtime Stories Continued…

  1. Oh dear … sounds like hubby went off the deep end a little bit. Of course, he can never ever go unsupervised again. And I vote for the second option — the colorful pillows. They are just too pretty not to have. But I totally see the Zen wonderfulness of the first set too.

    • WAY off the deep end! I can’t let him out of my sight for more than a second, I swear. I’ve pretty much decided on the colorful pillows. I might do a chair or bench in an Ikat print to make myself feel better.

  2. The second set is my favorite, and they are just lovely. I bet they would add just the right amount of color to your room, and if you get tired of them, you can always purchase new ones later…much later. I love the choices, but must say that I strongly prefer the second.

    • Everyone has had such a strong reaction to the second option. No doubt in my mind which choice reigns supreme! Hoping to pick a couple of those beauties up at our local store this week!

Leave a Reply

