A Litwits Newsletter

So I’ve noticed in the past few weeks several Litwits members or potential members visiting the blog from the meetup site.  For those other readers who are unaware, I run a book club called Atlanta’s Lady Litwits that often gets face time here at the ol’ blog.  So welcome all members (or wannabe Litwits!).  Here’s a little slice of what’s coming up in the next few months of book club!

The Sherlockian by Graham Moore is our July selection and we meet this Sunday at my house to discuss.  Holly, a long-time member, selected this book and members have so far been giving relatively positive feedback on their reading experience.  I, myself, have finished the novel and thought it was a quick, fun read very appropriate for summertime and lazing around on any sunny vacation.  If you can’t make the meetup this Sunday, don’t worry!  I’ll do a complete write up on everyone’s opinion and you can join in on the discussion right here in the comments.

 

August is Gone with the Wind month!  Margaret Mitchell’s classic is sure to bring about some meaty discussion.  It’s also a novel that any Georgian (native or adopted) should read.  The meetup date and time has been scheduled over at Meetup.com so head on over and RSVP today!  I’m also hosting a viewing of the film the night before the book discussion.  Yes, I’ll be screening all 4 hours, but you can come for any part of the movie you choose or watch it on your own.  Whatever works best for you!  I also highly recommend reading up on Mitchell as she was an amazing and interesting woman.

 

September means back-to-school so we’ve chosen a classic – Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston.  A beautiful story and one of my all-time favorite books.  I just know everyone will enjoy their time spent with Hurston’s novel.  Katherine will probably be hosting this meetup at her house in Grant Park.  I know some of you are probably sick of seeing my house month in and month out!  Katherine has hosted several meetups and is one awesome co-organizer.

 

Lovely member Dawn has graciously volunteered to choose our October voting selections – so get ready to stretch those voting fingers again come August 1st!

See y’all Sunday!

4 thoughts on “A Litwits Newsletter

  1. Very cool selections coming up! My mom lives in Atlanta, so I might have to mention your club to her. If it’s not too far away, I am sure she would love to join! She listens to about 5 to 6 books a week, and loves just about all genres. I will be interested in hearing what you think of the upcoming selections!

Leave a Reply

