At the Cinema: The Artist, Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter, and Playing by Heart

This week’s movie roundup comes to you from our home cinema! We decided to take a break for spending a ton of cash on theater visits to watch some movies we had on hand or that were cheap from RedBox. Enjoy!

artist

The Artist (own on bluray) – This film was a blind buy during Black Friday. It was priced really low and won the freakin’ Oscar so I was fairly certain it would be worth my money. I didn’t get around to watching until recently and I was both entertained and disappointed. The movie is definitely entertaining and cute. The actors are all beautiful people and the dog is a scene stopper! However, the movie never moves past cute for me. I think the gimmick of a black and white silent film in the 21st Century is what won this movie so many awards. I expected more.

abraham_lincoln_vampire_hunter_poster_a_p

Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter (rented on RedBox) – Oh boy. We watched this movie Saturday night. Jimmy was very impressed with the action, but kept nitpicking historical inaccuracies. I was just mind boggled that this film could ever have gotten made. I suppose when Tim Burton throws his name into the game, anything can happen. But geez. I guess it’s a fast-paced romp and a fun take on alternate history tales, but Abraham Lincoln is entirely dismissed as a superhuman action hero in this flick. Know what you’re getting yourself into before starting this one and don’t expect anything more than what you’re given!

Playing-by-Heart-gillian-anderson-668602_640_480

Playing By Heart (own on dvd) – One of my favorite movies from high school. I was such a Gillian Anderson fangirl at that point that I’d watch anything she was in. There is nothing particularly brilliant about this simple little romance, but I appreciate its ability to show real relationships – flaws and all. Worth a watch if you’ve never seen it! Besides Anderson, it stars Sean Connery, Angelina Jolie, Madeline Stowe, Jon Stewart, and many more!

6 thoughts on “At the Cinema: The Artist, Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter, and Playing by Heart

  1. That’s too bad about Lincoln in Vampire Hunter. I read the book and the author did a decent job at incorporating Lincoln’s history into the reasons he become a slayer. I was surprised that I enjoyed the book as much as I did, but haven’t given much thought to seeing the movie.

    • I think the story could have been very plausible because they do incorporate his backstory fairly well. However, the vampire hunting just never seems to amount to anything more – to serve any kind of higher purpose or meaning that merely revenge which I’m not sure is in character with Lincoln whatsoever. But I think I’m trying to force something on a film never meant to be more than fun escapist entertainment!

  2. I really want to see the Lincoln Vampire Hunter movie, because it’s just the sort of absurdity that I need tight now. The other two are fairly new to me, but the Gillian Anderson movie sounds pretty good too!

    • Absurdity, it is! And fun when that’s what you’re looking for. Playing by Heart is just one of those rom coms that I’ve always enjoyed despite its drama and silliness!

Leave a Reply

