Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden (VLOG!!)

So, I just realized that while I recorded a vlog reviewing Memoirs of a Geisha, I never actually reviewed it here on the old blog. SHAME! Anyway, I’m gonna post the video below for your viewing pleasure and skip the writing part. Because that seems like an appropriate Friday thing to do. But for those not inclined to watch me ramble on, here’s a short and sweet review of my own thoughts:

A BOOK FILLED WITH AWESOME. Richly layered, such amazing attention to detail, great sense of place. I want to read everything about geisha history and culture.

10 thoughts on “Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden (VLOG!!)

  1. Wow Brooke – great job with the Vlog. I read this book after it came out long ago, but you reminded me how great a novel it is. I enjoyed it immensely then. I really felt the whole world that Chiyo was in — and her struggles and hardships. It’s visual and the story is compelling. You really feel what it’s like being in her shoes. It’s amazing storytelling. So I agree with you

  2. I read this several years ago but still remember many of the descriptions of the way Chiyo had to dress and learn to be a geisha. Fascinating reading

Leave a Reply

