Questions! I Haz Them.

question1Been pondering lots of bookish, bloggery type things the past few weeks. And since my readers and the interwebs tend to be a wealth of information, I’d appreciate any and all responses to my somewhat ridiculous questions below.

1. TUMBLR. What is it? I don’t understand the purpose it serves. I already have FB, Twitter, Blog, YouTube channel, and Instagram. What could TUMBLR offer me?

2. Book recommendations. I need them. Particularly contemporary fiction set in or written by an author from the Middle East, Africa, South America, or Eastern Europe. And nonfiction about anything.

3. I want business cards for my blog and don’t know how to go about getting awesome ones made. I know Etsy probably has something, but can any of y’all fabulous people recommend someone you’ve used?

I have lots of other random things swirling around in my head. But those projects are rather large so I’d like to get a grasp on the new job and my working hours before I dive in. Thanks for any and all input!

16 thoughts on “Questions! I Haz Them.

  1. Tumblr…meh. I don’t use it. I have an account but I haven’t been there in forever.

    I’m a giant fan of nonfiction and I could give you a billion recommendations! Frozen in Time by Mitchell Zuckoff was fab. I just finished that one. Right now I’m in the middle of The Professor and the Madman by Simon Winchester and it’s GREAT. (It’s about the formation of the Oxford English Dictionary, etc.)

    Business cards: I recently ordered some from http://us.moo.com They are very nice!

  2. I’m not a fan of Tumblr either. I don’t even have an account. I just can’t imagine what it can add to the social media world if you already have a blog/twitter/FB, etc.
    I just finished a good nonfiction read, The Poisoner’s Handbook. So interesting! Anything by Mary Roach and Bill Bryson is good too. Behind the Beautiful Forevers and What is the What are good ones set in Africa and India respectively.

    • I also don’t have an account. I think the only reason I ever even go to Tumblr is to look up stuff in particular fandoms. Thank you immensely for the book recs. I have books by Roach and Bryson on my shelves but haven’t read them yet!

  3. I think you would really like Cantora by Sylvia Lopez-Medina. Not South American, kind of a combo between Mexican and Mexican American, but there is a lot of cultural flavor, if that’s what you’re looking for. Also, its one of my fave books of all time. I kind of can’t believe I didn’t put it in the book club pot while I was there…

    Junot Diaz for contemporary Latin American (not quite South American, but still really good). He’s amazing and one of my faves. Can’t help w the other questions, sorry!

  4. Pick up just about anything by Chris Abani. He writes poetry and fiction based in or inspired by Africa. A very powerful writer and a wonderful personality. As far as your nonfiction request, I’d recommend Sarah Vowell’s Assassination Vacation. She has a great voice and is well researched.

  5. For some good non-fiction reads, I would highly recommend The Signal and the Noise, and also The Botany of Desire. Although it’s always hard to pick, I think those are my favorite non-fiction reads so far this year 🙂

  6. NF recs: If you have not yet read The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot, do so – I handsell it at work all the time b/c it is a fabulous book. Also I just finished Nine Parts of Desire: Hidden Lives of Islamic Women by Geraldine Brooks – really interesting (and her first book I think, previously I’d only read her novels which are good as well). If you like micro histories, Mary Roach’s new book Gulp is almost as good as her first (Stiff). I also enjoyed Packing for Mars by her (Spook and Bonk were less well-done IMHO). Cheers!

Leave a Reply

