Monday with Brooke and the Week Ahead!

ea_b_s1My first work day! Excited and a complete bag of nerves as I type this. I’ve filled out all my paperwork – tax forms and benefits and whatnot. Can’t wait to start earning a paycheck again.

In order news, this past week was filled with my BtVS rewatch. Almost through season 2 now. Love how different the show feels at my current age versus high school/college.  Enjoying it in an entirely different way.

This weekend was a blast! Saturday was the Brookhaven Beerfest, an evening at the pool, and then Sweet Hut Bakery for a midnight snack. Sunday was some good eating – brunch at Buttermilk Kitchen and dinner at Amura Steak and Sushi. We also explored Roswell where Jimmy signed up for a 22 mile bike ride. Then we hit up a new used book store that I’m in love with – Once and Again in Marietta! I may have gotten a few things – obviously. We rounded out the day with stops at a UGA gift shop (Glory Glory), Target (there may have been more book buying), and the Frontgate outlet store where we got some new bath towels. We did this in torrential rain.

The week ahead promises more than just new work adventures! Jimmy’s out-of-town, but we’ll definitely be checking out the new Superman movie once he gets back. Plus, I’m dead set on keeping the reading mojo going after finishing 4 books last week! I’m hoping to complete The Kite Runner and begin The Woman Warrior by Maxine Hong Kingston. If those get completed, The Interestings by Meg Wolitzer is calling my name!

Wishing everyone the happiest of weeks!

6 thoughts on “Monday with Brooke and the Week Ahead!

  1. Good show, good food, good books. That sounds like a a perfect week to me! I really, REALLY liked The Interestings, I hope you do too!

  2. Huzzah, you went to Once & Again! So glad you liked it. Also, I just finished a complete Buffy rewatch and I loved it like I did before, but as you say – on a new level! I read the Woman Warrior many many (many) moons ago and don’t recall much about it. Maybe time for a revisit!

    • Loved Once and Again so thanks for the heads up! I loved The Woman Warrior during college (read for 2 classes) and can’t wait to see how it stands up to several years of aging!

Leave a Reply

