The Sunday Salon: Summer Holiday Edition

TSSbadge2I’m blogging live this Sunday from my brand new laptop – ain’t she a beauty? Friday afternoon my old HP gave me the blue screen of death. I had been hoping to make it until the end of year before buying a new computer, but life doesn’t care what I want. My HP gave me six good years of absolute hell. My new ASUS is shiny, fast, and weighs in at a sleek 2.1 lbs. It’s an ultrabook and there’s so much new to learn! I’m navigating my way through Windows 8 like a complete Microsoft newbie. But enjoying the heck out of every second. The full HD screen makes everything so teeny, tiny though. Looking into buying a second ginormous monitor to meet all of my needs. I blame life as an accountant. I’m so damn used to multiple screens at this point that it feels necessary. Oh, and did I mention it’s touchscreen? Fancy.

IMG_20130706_140712

Our holiday weekend has been wonderful. Four full days off of work. Thursday we had a bunch of friends over, grilled out, and went to see Despicable Me 2. A delightful way to spend a dreary 4th. Seriously, it hasn’t stopped raining since Wednesday and that’s the honest truth. Right now it’s thundering and raining some more. Because obviously. Chamblee rescheduled fireworks for Sunday night, but I’m thinking that’s not going to happen.

In bookish news, I finished Where’d You Go Bernadette and started The Exiles by Allison Lynn. I’m hoping to finish The Exiles by Monday and move on to American Born Chinese and Rules of Civility! Reviews this week will include some gushing over the new Van Booy and my recent audiobooks. And it wouldn’t have been a week in my life without some new acquisitions!

IMG_20130703_001101

What bookish things did you acquire this week? Reading anything amazing right now?

 

10 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon: Summer Holiday Edition

  1. Fancy new laptop, nice! Sorry about all of the rain, I hope you get to see some fireworks at some point! I just won a copy of the new Van Booy and I cannot wait to hold it in my hot little hands!

    Happy reading!

    • You’re going to love the Van Booy! We finally did get to see fireworks last night but spent most of them trying to calm our dogs down. They were terrified.

  2. Enjoy the new laptop! I’m not a fan of Windows 8, but I’m finally getting to the point that I can tolerate it and have (mostly) stopped threatening to install Ubuntu instead. Should be easier for you though since you have a touchscreen. πŸ˜›

    Right now I’m reading “The Lemon Orchard” by Luanne Rice. I’ve never read any of her books before and it makes for decent light summer reading, even though so far it’s quite tragic.

    • I’m not sure I’ll even use Windows 8 to its full extent – mostly I ignore all the apps and things and hang out on the desktop screen. We’ll see.

      Hearing great things about The Lemon Orchard!

  3. I also just got an ASUS earlier this year after having an HP for the past 5 years (mine literally went up in smoke) and OMG … what a difference, huh?! I hear you on the smaller screen and figuring out Windows 8. Definitely takes some getting used to, for sure.

    • I’m close to licking it at this point. It probably tastes delicious and is, by far, the most amazing electronical device I’ve ever owned!

Leave a Reply

