TSS: Books, Football, and Festivals

Future!Brooke is currently celebrating a Georgia win over Clemson. Or – she might be weeping after a devastating loss. Either way, college football season is back and my life has an extra level of stress. (Update: I’m weeping in my cheerios, dammit.)

TSSbadge2Happy September! This month I’m participating in two readalongs. The first, SeptembEYre, is a collective reading of Jane Eyre (aren’t readers clever?). It’s hosted over at Entomology of a Bookworm and you should go check it out. The second is in conjunction with RIP VIII and it’s for The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova. The always lovely Estella Society is hosting, and I am ridiculously excited.

Vintage Cluj Cemetery

While you’re reading this post, I’ve hopefully made my way over to the Decatur Book Festival which might be the most awesome book festival EVER. Anyway, I’m hoping to attend some author events. This might also mean new books are in my future. I know I’m on a book buying challenge to read 20 books before buying anything new, but I might have to make this particular event exempt. Because I make the rules. BE QUIET with your judgments.

As far as reviews to look forward to this week, I should find time to get my thoughts on Mansfield Park  by Jane Austen and Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell put together. I’m currently reading Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and hope to start Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte along with Dark Places by Gillian Flynn this week.

IMG_20130828_234013

Looking forward to a quiet work week. Last week saw long hours in the office and long hours of social events once I got home. We hosted an awesome hot pot dinner on Wednesday night which was a glorious success. Thursday night my sister, brother-in-law, and gorgeous baby niece came to visit. Saturday we hosted even more people for pizza, beer, and the UGA game. So thankful to have a four day weekend to sleep and recover from all the festivities.

What’s new with you?

8 thoughts on “TSS: Books, Football, and Festivals

  1. Not much here. Thankful for a four-day weekend too and missing your video posts. Your enthusiasm for books always shows there…um, yeah, not that it isn’t showing here. 🙂 We have a friend who lives in Atlanta and is going to the Decatur festival too. I’ll look forward to hearing what you both think.

    • I always forget to post my vlogs even though I film them all the time and post over on YouTube. I didn’t end up making it to the festival – got sick – which made me so sad. I know it was amazing though – always is.

  2. The Jane Eyre readalong is a good idea; The Historian is a chunkster, I’ve read it (good in parts but needed some editing down in other parts perhaps). Enjoy your holiday weekend.

Leave a Reply

