2014: What to Expect in the New Year

I don’t make resolutions. Also known as pretty little lies. But I spend plenty of time thinking about what I’d like to work on and things I’d like to accomplish. Just thought I’d share a few with y’all.

#1 – READ LESS and BUY FEWER BOOKS. I know, I know. That seems in direct opposition to writing a book blog or even being a reader, but hear me out. I read 100 books in 2013 and it nearly killed me. My brain broke in November and never again. I gained absolutely not a single thing from reading that many extra books. I historically keep my numbers between 50-60. Time to get back to that. I did more reading last year than living. Ain’t nobody got time for that. You guys will like me more, I swear.

#2 – REDISCOVER MUSIC and ATTEND MORE CONCERTS. Before I was a dedicated bookworm, I was a music fiend. I lived to find the perfect song, the perfect album. I spent 3-4 nights a week during my first two years of college pressed against the stage barrier of small punk rock shows. Then I just stopped. I buried that passion for reasons I haven’t fully discovered yet, but I’ve can feel the craving coming back deep in my bones. Look for music recommendation posts in the coming future!!

#3 – STOP GIVING A FUCK. As my twenties come to an end, my biggest goal for my thirties is to stop being what I thought I had to be coming out of college and start being who I actually am. I tried playing the corporate game and failed awesomely. I don’t color inside the lines and I dance to the beat of my own drum. Always have. I miss all the laughing I used to do and the odd looks people used to give me. Being comfortable in my own crazy skin is the ultimate freedom.

#4 – MAKE MY HOME A SANCTUARY. This one is simple. Just make my home the ideal place for me to return to at the end of every day and curl up with whatever makes me happy at the moment. First up on my to-do list, change the paint in my living room/kitchen. It’s currently blue and I mostly hate it. I frown at it all the time. Time for a change. Second goal, finally get the sofas and chairs I’ve been wanting. See the pictures below. I want soft leather sofas and comfy, classic chairs like these, but in a more colorful hue.

img33c

img13c                    

#5 – GET OUT OF ATLANTA. Not permanently, but I haven’t been on a proper vacation in two years. We did go to LA last year for my sister-in-law’s wedding, but that was work more than anything. I’m desperate for a return trip to NYC or somewhere in the Pacific Northwest. There’s also Jimmy’s cousin’s wedding to look forward to. It will be in Taiwan or Thailand. I have my fingers crossed on a beach ceremony in Thailand. Total perk to marrying into an Asian family.

#6 – GET AT LEAST ONE TATTOO. I’ve wanted tattoos since I was 18. I figure if I still want them 12 years later, I should bite the bullet and get it done. My husband has agreed as long as he gets something in return. His wish? A new motorcycle. Fair enough. In a similar vein, I just got my nose pierced and LOVE IT.

#7 – EAT LESS FAST FOOD. Self explanatory.

#8 – LEARN HOW TO HANDLE A GUN. The last time I shot a gun, I was a teenager. I’d love to learn the proper way to handle a weapon and do some sport shooting. Judge all you want, but I’m from the South and grew up with guns. It’s a skill I’d like to have.

#9 – BUY MORE CLOTHES. I hate clothes shopping and rarely do it. My work wardrobe doesn’t fit properly and almost everything in it is over 3 years old, if not significantly older. Time to focus on turning over my closet and wearing things that actually look good. If you look good, you feel good. I know I’ll always be a t-shirt and jeans girl at heart, but it doesn’t hurt to branch out every once in a while.

#10 – LAUGH MORE.

18 thoughts on “2014: What to Expect in the New Year

  1. I’ve found that the best part of getting older is feeling more and more comfortable in your skin. It’s so nice to finally move past the stage of caring so much what other people think and just being able to be yourself.

    I hope that 2014 is everything you could wish for and more. And I’m looking forward to your music posts!

    • I don’t know why I cared so much during my mid-twenties, but I did. So glad to get back to basics and just forget the rest. Yay for music recommendations!!

  2. I really love your ‘read less’ goal. I adore reading but I don’t get through a lot of books per year. When I see some folks reading 100+ books I always wonder if they’re genuinely enjoying them or just doing it cause they can or feel they should (I’m sure some do really love it).
    Your goals seem great, and realistic too! Good luck with them 🙂

    • 100 books this year didn’t give me any extra boost of any kind so I’m over it. 50-60 is perfect. I guess I could understand reading more if I didn’t work full time.

  3. I love these. I got a tattoo close to 30 and never regretted it! Also like your #1 — reading should be fun, and when it stops being fun, you’ve ruined something great. I get #9 too. I started caring a lot more about clothes when I realized feeling good about how you look really does matter. Sadly, you start using words like “age appropriate” in your 30’s. These are fantastic resolutions, hope it’s a wonderful 2014!

  4. Fabulous list, I could list almost everything on here for myself. I desperately need to do #3, if you figure out some surefire way – please share. #4 is an ongoing process in my house, I’m renovating and I’m happy with the way it’s going when I don’t want to cry about it.

    • The way I do #3 is just do the things I want to do and smile when someone tells you you aren’t doing it right. That’s all I’ve got, haha. #4 has been so hard for me. I like something one minute and then hate it the next.

  5. I love all of your goals! Especially making your home more comfortable, getting a tattoo, and handling guns more. (I didn’t get to go shooting at all this year, which sucks.) Good luck with everything on your list!!! 🙂

  6. Love these goals! I got a tattoo at 18 and still love it. I’m planning on getting a second for the 30th bday this year. I love the idea of making your home a sanctuary and I think everyone should know how to handle a gun for their own safety. Here’s to a kickass 2014!

Leave a Reply

